JZH Gaming – State of Nutz

Good day to everyone!

I wanted to run down what JZH Gaming has been up to and where everything is headed so far. If you follow me on YouTube, you will know that I and those who I play with have been heavily focused on Star Trek Online for PS4. This will still be the case moving forward, but with a few caveats.

First – STO is the “primary” focus, however, I will not be putting in the grind like I have been over the past 5-6 months. I will still be posting builds, still be running Hive Onslaught on Elite, and others as well, but I, and others like me, have gotten to the point where we essentially have everything we need and can get to compete at the highest levels in STO on PS4. our 6 minute Hive Space Elite run is proof of that, as well as subsequent runs of 7 minutes and 6 1/2 minutes respectively with different groups of people. I have been honored to be apart of a great group of people both on PS4 with our fleets – Stargaryen Federation (Fed Fleet) and the Stargaryen Empire (KDF fleet), as well as people on the PC side of things – and those people are linked on my YouTube channel. I look forward to continued interactions with these people moving forward. However, like most people, I am not a one game type of person – I love role-playing games, and have been slowly going through Final Fantasy 15 with my children. I am also looking forward to some games coming out, but more on that in a minute.

The main reason for slowing down on STO – beyond the obvious plateau in ways – is that Cryptic has yet to fix some of the fundamental issues plaguing the game – some – like the tailor and getting stuck while cloaked bugs have been there since the beginning. Others, like the turn rate bug, have been off again-on again issues that for whatever reason, Cryptic cannot seem to get a grip on. I understand the game is F2P, at the same time, myself, and a lot of other people, have sunk a lot of time, money and effort into this game – and lets face it, even if the Temporal Transponder was working, Agents of Yesterday, from a content perspective, was a severe joke – almost as if it was April 1st already. I get it, it’s what PC got, and yes, the new content is great, but it feels lacking. On top of that, the other content that we are all looking forward to – ships – has seemingly been designed to have the “must haves” released in such a way where it feels like every week we are having to buy a new ship to a) master for a trait and b) change our build up once again. One reason I have stuck with the Kelvin Intel Dreadnought for so long is because it works, and it works well – but to answer the question, yes, I have bought the other ship packs across the board except maybe a couple. I get it – Cryptic needs to make money to justify putting resources on the table when it comes to STO, problem is, this problem is not just on PS4 – but goes across the board on all platforms. I will say that with the Badlands introduced with AoY, the grind for marks will not be as bad as it was for Iconian, but that is really the only bright spot besides Temporal Spec coming in – because besides Crystalline Catastrophe, the PvE additions are all a joke, or worse, not worth the time and effort in running them.

I don’t see Cryptic fixing their shit any time soon – and that’s fine – I don’t see myself spending any more money any time soon either. To update – I have all of the ships I have wanted since before STO came out except two lobi ships which are not available yet. I have enough lobi to cover those and also tachyokinetic convertors once those are released. So, from that perspective, I am good.

Now that the bad is out of the way – I am still working on builds, working on the new reputations, working on getting our Hive Space Elite down even quicker – STO just does not have my undivided gaming attention anymore. For what will be sharing my attention, here we go…

Final Fantasy 15 – still taking it slow, partly because I try to play it with my kids around because the like it, AND it is how my dad played Final Fantasy games. I don’t see myself beating it anytime soon, and I probably will not post any videos or have any streams of FF15, but I will be on it from time to time. Still one of the best RPGs I have played since the Witcher 3.

Horizon Zero Dawn – Both I, and altlesjo (my YouTube partner) will be playing this. THIS game I will be streaming and uploading videos – so everyone will have an opportunity to see what some people have called the best looking game on PS4 along with me. I have been looking forward to this for a long time, and I am excited to pop it in tomorrow.

Mass Effect: Andromeda – Comes out in the middle of March – same goes for this game, will be streaming, etc.

Elite: Dangerous – Will release on PS4 in Q2 – no exact date yet, but I have played a trial on PC and watched a lot of material on this game. This looks to be my “other” MMO aside from STO, and i am looking forward to this game a lot as well.

Minecraft – Another game I have always loved – will play mostly on PS4 with a little bit on PC. Cooking up a Star Trek themed escape on Ps4 right now, and some PC friends already have some stuff that looks amazing – one of them is Darth Protius. A STO science guru in his own right, he has put a lot of effort into his Minecraft endeavors. Worth a look.

On a streaming note – I now have the capability to stream through my PC using an Elgato HD60s – so, streams and our J&J Show should be getting a lot better – and a little more complicated.

So – to some it all up – still going to be doing STO, just not as heavy. Look for more variety in content, and as always, keep sending me questions, comments and ideas.

LLAP,
jzhnutz

One thought on “JZH Gaming – State of Nutz

Leave a comment